Saturday, July 31, 2010

At a Glance: The Central Regional Tournament

The biggest regional tournament takes place in Carthage, Missouri, and began Friday.  Unfortunately, I don't have the league names for each state winner, but there are three pools:

Red Pool
Michigan, Nebraska, Kansas, Wisconsin, and the host team

White Pool
Kentucky, Missouri, Iowa, and Indiana

Blue Pool
Illinois, Minnesota, N/S Dakota, and Ohio

The Central Region championship game will take place on Friday, August 6.

At a Glance: the Southwest Regional

The 2010 Southwestern Regional tournament began yesterday in Waco, Texas, and features these six teams:

Texas East
Washington County LL
Brenham, Texas
Texas West
McAllister Park LL
San Antonio, Texas
New Mexico
Petroglyph LL
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Fruita LL
Fruita, Colorado
Evangeline LL
New Iberia, Louisiana
Pine Bluff American-Eastern Softball LL
Pine Bluff, Arkansas

The championship game will take place August 4, with the "if needed" game the following day.

At at Glance: the East Regional

The 2010 Eastern Regional Tournament began today in Albany, New York.  The ten teams will compete through next Saturday to crown a champion for the LL Softball World Series here in Portland.

Mid Atlantic Pool

Laurel LL
Laurel, Delaware

Caroline North LL
Greensboro, Maryland
New Jersey
Robbinsville LL
Robbinsville, New Jersey
New York
Merrick North Merrick LL
Merrick, New York
West Point LL
Greensburg, Pennsylvania

New England Pool

Waterford South LL
Waterford, Connecticut
South Portland American LL
South Portland, Maine
Swampscott LL
Swampscott, Massachusetts

Fairfax Fletcher Westford LL
Fairfax, Vermont
Rhode Island
Westerly National LL
Westerly, Rhode Island

Friday, July 30, 2010

At a Glance: the Southeast Regional

Warner Robins, Georgia, is the home of both Little League's new Southeast Region headquarters and the 2009 LL Softball World Series champs!

The Southeast Regional tournament began play yesterday.  There is a team in each pool at 2-0 (New Tampa LL and Warner Robins LL).

Congrats to ALL the teams playing!

Pool A:

New Tampa LL
Tampa, Florida

West Virginia
Barboursville LL
Barboursville, West Virginia
Daniel Boone LL
Gray, Tennessee

Bridgewater Community LL
Bridgewater, Virginia
Pool B:
Phenix City Fastpitch LL
Phenix City, Alabama
Warner Robins American LL
Warner Robins, Georgia
North Carolina
Wilkes County LL
Wilkes County, North Carolina
South Carolina
Blue Ridge LL
Greer, South Carolina

The championship game will be Monday, August 2nd.  Here is some press on the teams/tournament:

"Teams Wide-Eyed, Amazed at New Little League Park"

"WR Kicks Off First Little League Region Tourney"

"Little League Families Put Lives On Hold For Once In A Lifetime Chance"

"Getting Acquainted: The Stories Behind the Teams in the Little League Regional"

I LOVE seeing all this positive press about the hardworking Little Leaguers!

At a Glance: the West Regional

The 2010 Little League Softball Western Regional tournamment is taking place just across the Columbia River in Vancouver, Washington.  Teams competing for the chance to advance to the LLSWS:

Pool A:

Nunaka Valley LL
Anchorage, Alaska
Snow Canyon LL
Santa Clara, Utah
Southern California
Burbank LL
Burbank, California

Pendleton LL
Pendleton, Oregon
Host (Washington District 4)
Cascade LL
Vancouver, Washington

Pool B:

High Desert LL
Anthem, Arizona

Northern California
Gilroy LL
Gilroy, California

Lewiston LL
Lewiston, Idaho
Boulder Arrowhead-Big Sky LL
Billings, Montana

East Jefferson LL
Chimacum, Washington
Pool play kicks off tomorrow at 3pm.  You can follow that tournament on the Washington District 4 website.
Congrats to all the players who have made it to Vancouver and the 2010 Western Region Tournament!

Thursday, July 29, 2010

Four Teams Have Already Qualified for 2010

This weekend marks the beginning of the U.S. Regional tournaments in Little League Softball action, but four teams have already qualified to play in the LL Softball World Series next month:

UKS Softball Club Wroclaw LL
Wroclaw, Poland
Latin America:
Maunabo, Puerto Rico
Asia Pacific:
Bacolod West LL
Bacolod City, Philippines
and the Host team, Oregon District 4:
Tigard LL
Tigard, Oregon

"Tigard Takes It!"
Welcome to the 2010 Little League Softball World Series!  and welcome, very soon, to Portland, Oregon!

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Start your engines!

Hi Little League Softball fans -- it's the most...wonderful...time...of the year!

It is time to put the keys into this blog's ignition and restart for the 2010 Road to the Little League SOFTBALL World Series.

As I warm this puppy up, with some design changes and tools to follow all the all action, I hope you are enjoying your summer. If you can't be with us in Portland, I hope this blog can keep you connected to the action.

I'm all about the positive -- I am a local Little League President and strong advocate for youth softball and baseball. I won't allow negative comments and I am careful with using kids' names with their images.

I like to start by following Regional tournaments and highlighting the amazing girls that have made it this far into the summer! What an accomplishment. As a LL Softballer myself, I never made it past State...

Please feel free to comment and share this blog with other fans.

I love August!